Northern Territory

Building and construction payment disputes

With the exception of one section, the Construction Contracts (Security of Payments) Act (the Act) came into operation in the Northern Territory on 1 July 2005.

The Act covers construction contracts, whether or not in writing, for construction work performed on a site in the Northern Territory. It also covers contracts for the supply of materials and services associated with construction projects.

It provides an adjudication scheme for the resolution of payment disputes and also provides for minimum contract standards, by implying that certain conditions apply where the contract between the parties fails to cover the same issues in writing.

Resolution Institute (and previously the Institute of Arbitrators & Mediators Australia (IAMA) prior to its merger with LEADR to form Resolution Institute in 2015) has been a prescribed appointer under the Act since its inception in 2005 and Resolution Institute has many experienced registered adjudicators amongst its members.

To find out more about the adjudication process, click here to go to the Northern Territory Government's website.

To access a copy of the Act, click here

Let us choose an adjudicator for you

Complete the online form to use the Resolution Institute nomination service to appoint an adjudicator for you.

Resolution Institute will assess your matter and appoint a suitably qualified and experienced adjudicator.

Complete the Online Form

If you are unable to lodge online, you can submit your application by:

  • Email: to [email protected] (with all supporting documents attached in readable formats e.g. PDF, Excel, etc.)
  • Or lodge in hard copy to either of the addresses below:

In the Northern Territory

C/- Squire Patton Boggs
Attention: Cris Cureton
Level 16, Charles Darwin Centre
19 Smith Street
Darwin NT 0800

Tel: +61 8 8941 5415


In Western Australia

Kings Park Business & Secretarial Services
44 Kings Park Rd
West Perth WA 6005
Tel: +61 8 6263 4462

Opening hours: 9:00am - 5:00pm, Monday to Friday